East Region

Located in the densely populated area of eastern Kansas, the east region includes the Kansas City metropolitan area, Topeka, Lawrence, Emporia, Pittsburg, and Chanute.

Fort Leavenworth, the U.S. Penitentiary at Leavenworth, and the Lansing Correctional Facility are located within this region. The East Region is also home to numerous community, public, and private colleges, including:
  • Baker University
  • Emporia State University
  • Pittsburg State University
  • University of Kansas Medical Center in Kansas City, Kansas
  • University of Kansas
  • Washburn University
East Region Map
Wolf Creek Nuclear Operating Center, the Kansas Speedway and the Legends are located in the east region. The Tribal nations (including Pottawatomie, Kickapoo, Iowa, and Sac and Fox) are located in the east region, each with a casino.

The Patrol's General Headquarters and the State Capitol of Kansas are also in the east region's geographic area. Motorist Assistance units operate in the metropolitan areas assisting stranded motorists and keeping traffic moving safely.