West Region

The west region is comprised of four field troops, and one specialty troop. The west region encompasses 73 counties in the western 2/3 of the state.
The region includes:
  • Dodge City
  • Garden City
  • Hays
  • Hutchinson
  • Manhattan
  • Salina
  • Wichita metropolitan area
West Region Map
Region Offerings
Because of the vast rural area of parts of the west region, troopers maintain a close working relationship with other law enforcement agencies. The west region is home to Kansas State University, Wichita State University and Fort Hays State University, as well as several community and private colleges. The west region is also home to the DHS National Bio and Agro-Defense Facility (NBAF) and Kansas State University's Biosecurity Research Institute (BRI) in Manhattan.

The west region is home to the Kansas State Fair located in Hutchinson. There are two major military bases in the region-Fort Riley along I-70, and McConnell Air Force Base in Wichita. The west region has several casinos located within the area, and the region includes large beef processing plants in Dodge City, Garden City and Liberal. Motor carrier inspection/weigh stations with fixed scales are geographically located in Liberal, Kanorado, Belleville and South Haven.

Troop G
Troop G personnel are assigned to the Kansas Turnpike. The Turnpike traverses through Kansas from the Oklahoma border, through Wichita, the Flint Hills, Emporia, Topeka, and to Kansas City. Along the way, 2 destination casinos may be found on the route.